Application Procedures to Laurea Magistrale Programmes

The "Laurea Magistrale" (equivalent to Master of Science) is obtained after two years of postgraduate studies and aims to provide advanced training in specific sectors.

Applicants who already have a “Laurea” (equivalent to Bachelor of Science) in a different field or have attended a vocational school, as well as those who obtained an undergraduate qualification at a University of Applied Science (or any other university with a similar study profile), cannot apply directly for a “Laurea Magistrale” (equivalent to Master of Science), but they must first obtain the necessary credits. 

Laurea Magistrale programmes under the School of Design  and under the School of Architecture accept students only in the first semester of the academic year (September intake).


To foster integration, work at Italian companies and to make life outside the campus even more enjoyable, all students will have to prove an Italian Language proficiency in order to graduate. Please note that this is NOT an entry requirement.

The options are as follows:

  • If you already have a certificate of Italian language level B1, you will have to upload it upon enrolment (for accepted certificates, check the Ministry of University Circolare MUR 2021-2022 - pg 11 e 12, Article 1.2, comma G)
  • Politecnico di Milano will offer you the opportunity to attend a free course of Italian and to take an exit test. The exit test is valid if it shows that you kept or improved your entrance level. It is not required to reach the B1 level. For further details, please check here.


Politecnico di Milano welcomes students coming from Ukraine, who are willing to apply to our programmes. Please check the dedicated page for more details.

Check the deadlines

Every year different application calls are open for international prospective students who want to apply to Politecnico di Milano Laurea Magistrale programmes. Application calls differ according to the semester of interest and/or students nationality: Non EEA (European Economic Area), EEA (European Economic Area) or Non EEA (European Economic Area) residing in Italy.