Pierangelo Metrangolo wins the Fluorous Technology Award 2019

Awarded for his achievements in the chemistry research field of Fluorine and fluorinated materials

Prof. Pierangelo Metrangolo, from the Politecnico di Milano’s Department of Chemistry, Materials and Chemical Engineering "Giulio Natta", has won the Fluorous Technology Award 2019.

This prestigious award is handed out every two year during the International Symposium of Fluorous Technologies, which this year took place in Shanghai from 8th to 10th August.

The symposium was founded in order to discuss the latest developments of technology connected to fluorous chemistry and fluorinated materials, included their commercial applications.

The award was presented to Prof. Metrangolo following his achievements in the innovative chemistry research field concerning Fluorine and of fluorinated materials.

Previous award winners include such researchers as John Gladysz (University of Texas) and Dennis Curran (University of Pittsburgh).

Last edition’s prize was assigned to Wei Zhang from the University of Massachusetts, Boston.